Matthew G. Gwaltney Scholarship

Application deadlinE: MAY 1, 2021

On April 16, 2007, the world was astounded by the events at Virginia Tech. Families, friends, and fellow students were impacted by this tragedy. Closer to home, Matthew Gwaltney, son of Greg Gwaltney and stepson of Linda Gwaltney, a former president of the Richmond Chapter, was among those who were taken. Matt was just weeks away from obtaining his graduate degree. In his honor, the Richmond Chapter has established the Matthew G. Gwaltney Scholarship, awarding an annual grant in the amount of $1,000.00.

How to Nominate a Candidate for the Matthew G. Gwaltney Scholarship:

In order for the Chapter to choose a recipient for the fall semester of 2021, the application package in its entirety must be received by May 1, 2021.

Criteria for nomination:

  1. Nominee must be nominated by a current chapter member.
  2. Member must be in good standing with the chapter.
  3. The nominee must be a senior in High School, any year of College or Trade School.

The applicant will be reviewed in three areas:

  1. Academic Standing
  2. Extracurricular Activities
  3. Community Involvement

All nominations must include the following four items:

  1. A nomination form. DOWNLOAD THE NOMINATION FORM
  2. A letter from the school Principal (or responsible school official) denoting grade point average and extracurricular activities.
  3. An essay from the person making the nomination explaining why they feel the candidate should receive the scholarship.
  4. An essay from the candidate describing past, current and future educational and civic/work/community goals and achievements.

Send all materials for nominations via U.S. Mail to:

Richmond Chapter APA
C/O Matthew G. Gwaltney Scholarship
PO Box 25909
Richmond, VA 23260

Previous Scholarship Recipients:

2020 - 

2019 - Julian Dixon

2018 - Lamont Harris

2017 - Jaylon Davis

2016 - Zachary Marshall

2015 - Kathryn Rappold

2014 - Justin A. Waddy

2013 - Derrick Martin

2012 - Melanie Wilder

2011 - Stephan Martin

2010 - Charles B. Paulus

2009- Devon Martin